Wells       College Science Colloquium
Spring 2014 Schedule

 

Science Colloquium features speakers in all areas of the sciences, including Wells students and faculty, and researchers from other institutions. 

Seminars are Fridays during the fall and spring semesters from 12:40 to 1:30 in Stratton Hall 209.

All are welcome to attend.

For further information, please contact Professor Lauren O'Neil

Date

Speaker(s), Topics

Friday, January 24

Lauren O’Neil, Ph.D.

Wells College

Science and Social Media

Friday, January 31

Internship Poster Session

Stratton Atrium

Friday, February 7

Tom Vawter, Ph.D.

In the Wake of the Beagle: Following Darwin in the Galapagos Islands

Professor of Biology, Emeritus - Wells College

Host: Niamh O’Leary

Friday, February 14

Friday, February 21

Friday, February 28

Friday, March 7

Spring Break Begins, No Colloquium

Friday, March 14

Spring Break, No Colloquium

Friday, March 21

Joseph Kula, Ph.D.

The Isolation of New Zealand during the Breakup of the Gondwana Pacific Margin

Adjunct Professor (Geology)

Host: Niamh O’Leary

Friday, March 28

Richard Merchant, M.A.

Area Health Education Centers (AHEC): Opportunities for Applied Learning and Career Development

CEO, Central New York Area Health Education Center (CNY AHEC)

Host: Pre-Health Advising Committee

Friday, April 4

Josh Brutscher (“Reverse Engineering Code Through the Process of Software Modification in Super Smash Bros. Brawl”)

Dauris Little (“Let’s Take a Swim”)

Senior Seminar Presentations

Natural and Mathematical Sciences

Friday, April 11

Carly Beadle (“Ethnomathematics: A look into Papua New Guniea, Education and Mathematics”)

Alexander Essandoh ("Ithacuts")

Senior Seminar Presentations

Natural and Mathematical Sciences

Friday, April 18

Pamela Badian-Pessot (“Analyzing Lineup Optimization Algorithms Using a Markov Chain Model”)

Riley Duncan ("Fueling Change: A look at the Effects of Non-renewable Fuels")

Senior Seminar Presentations

Natural and Mathematical Sciences

Friday, April 25

Molly Baillargeon

“An Investigation into the Effect of Soil Disking on Gewürztraminer (Vitis vinifera cultivar) Grape

Maturation in the Finger Lakes Region of New York”

Anna Van Vranken

“Air Pollution and Environmental Injustice in Selected Areas of the United States”

Senior Seminar Presentations

Environmental Sciences

Wednesday, April 30

Costa Frangeskides

“A Comparison of the Environmental Impacts of Hydraulically Fractured Natural Gas and Coal Energy”

 

Senior Seminar Presentations

Environmental Sciences

Friday, May 2

Kim TallBear: 

Native American DNA and the False Promise of Genetic Science

Associate Professor of Anthropology, UT Austin

Host: Women’s and Gender Studies and First Nations and Indigenous Studies (Prof. Hall)

 

Info for Presenters

 

Fall 2013

Spring 2013

Fall 2012